Author Topic: apostrophe in csvupdate  (Read 3692 times)

Offline shlomit

apostrophe in csvupdate
« on: September 18, 2012, 07:29:25 AM »
when a user update his record with the csvupdate.pl and the text contains 1 apostrophe (like intch - 3' for example) all the text after it just disappear from the data base in this record.

please help, it drives me nuts ):

thanks

shlomit.

Offline MrG

Re: apostrophe in csvupdate
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2012, 03:08:31 PM »
shlomit;

I'm new to this also, but I just tried putting in what you said in a text field in my temporary database, and everything worked fine. I am using the csvxtra set of files.

I put in the following .....

this is a test' to see if I loose after the apostrophe mark

I'll even try the 3' to see what happens

Didn't loose any text when I saved.

Is your field a text field, and/or have you made any changes to the update script?

Rich

Offline shlomit

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2012, 03:18:24 PM »
Hi Rich

thanks for your answer....

I did not made any changes to the script but I took Jason suggestion some time ago to put html editor for the users to update their ads like in this forum ...., and this is the reason, I think. i forgot to mention that.

Shlomit
« Last Edit: September 18, 2012, 03:20:03 PM by shlomit »

Offline MrG

« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2012, 05:35:14 PM »
Hi Shlomit;

I'm so new to this script that I haven't messed with the wysiwyg editor yet so I can't say whether it's the culprit or not. You may want to try removing the coding in your update form, if you're using one that you made, for a short while just to see if that is the problem.

That would be my suggestion. Jason or Rob may have another.

You may also want to visit the wysiwyg editors website and put a question in to them regarding the problem.

Rich

Offline Jason

• Administrator
    • slipdex
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2012, 06:34:07 PM »
Hi Shmolit,